Will this be my next trip or will I squeeze in another before then?

2016-24-Oxfam-Nepal-CHallenge-My-Oxfam-Header_V1c

The name says it all!

I am so proud to say that I will be joining a bunch of likeminded people on a journey to a lifetime – visiting Nepal in March 2017 while supporting Oxfam Australia.  This is a charity trek, which basically means I have to raise funds to donate to Oxfam – plus while in Nepal I get to visit the projects in Kathmandu.  The biggest challenge is spending 6 days trekking the Annapurna Circuit – yikes!

Here’s a little background with the reasoning behind my decision:

“…To you, this is not a mammoth adventure or extreme by any means.  However, I am an ordinary person. I don’t trek or do extreme adventure activities. I was recently in China and part of the tour was 2 days trekking Tiger Leaping Gorge. I was scared – I didn’t know what to expect. I wasn’t fit and I didn’t have the correct equipment. However, the experience inspired me: being in the fresh air; it was just me and the mountains. I challenged myself to something I thought I wouldn’t accomplish. I’m a little Aussie battler that doesn’t give up.  It was one step at a time, and the sense of accomplishment was astounding.

5 days after I returned home I booked myself to Nepal. Like I say, I’m just an average person, no one special; I’m not a top-notch photographer (though I do take a pretty good photo!) and I’m not a journalist.  I am going to work hard to achieve something that 6 months ago would have been unimaginable. I wouldn’t have even considered taking on a challenge like Annapurna. I also know this is not all that is ahead of me. I know it is just the beginning of something bigger– it will be the beginning of a desire to explore, to be in the fresh air… to challenge myself.

My question for you is: do you remember when it changed for you? Are you willing to be a part of a seemingly unknown person’s story? …”

I have a couple of pages set up for this trip:

www.gofundme.com/nepaloxfam

www.facebook.com/journeytonepaloxfam

ProudlySupporting_Logo_Stacked_Black_Screen

Leave a Reply

